I’m vying for UMNO Youth ead post on my own strength, says Khairy

Bernama

REMBAU, SUN:

Umno Youth vice-head Khairy Jamaluddin said he is offering himself for the post of Youth head on his own strength without influence from other factors.

The Rembau member of parliament hoped that the delegates and Umno Youth members could evaluate his candidacy on his personal credibility and strength.

“I will continue with my plan to contest the post of Umno Youth head because right from the beginning I had wanted to contest on my own strength and hope whatever decision made by the party leadership (president and deputy president) will not influence the votes of the ’young people’ in the party,” he told reporters when met at his Hari Raya Open House at the Kampong Gadong Community Hall, Kota, near here today.

He said this when asked about his position as a candidate for the Umno Youth head if Umno president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi were to announce that he would not be defending his Umno presidency in the coming party election.

Khairy, who is also the Rembau Umno Youth head, said the young people should choose their own generation and not because of certain reasons such as influence from the top leadership and others.

“They (Youth members) must choose for the future of the young people in the party. My decision won’t change no matter what the president decides.

“I had never served as the son-in-law of the president or prime minister for the past four years during my tenure as Umno Youth vice-head.

“I get down on the ground, I became director of the by-election machinery…I conduct programmes and various others things in the last four years on my own and this will not change whether Pak Lah or Datuk Seri Najib is the president. I will continue with my work as a leader of the young generation in Umno,” he said.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment